Using the Zune HD for fitness classes.

In the fall of 2009, Microsoft released a 3.3 inch OLED touch screen media player called the Zune HD.  It features HD radio, wi-fi, music and video playback.  The product has since been discontinued, but I still use it on a bi-weekly basis.

I teach a boxing fitness class, twice a week, at a local gym.  Like any other fitness class, music is essential.  I could just use my Windows Phone, which has the Zune software built-in, but I need to use my phone for taking photos or video while the class is in session.  I also like to conserve the battery on my phone as well.

Image courtesy of zune.net

Hooking up the Zune HD to the stereo, provided by the gym, is a must.  With the Zune HD, I can use Smart DJ to make a music playlist spontaneously, but I usually have a playlist created ahead of time.  The metro interface couldn’t be easier to use.  Simply click on “music”, then find something to listen to by swiping through the different headings and scrolling to the song.  OR just hit the arrow to the left of “music” to listen to your entire collection.

Do you use a Zune HD?  If so, tweet me and let me know: @JustinSalvato

About Justin M. Salvato

I'm Justin M. Salvato, a semi-tech-savvy guy that uses Microsoft products on a daily basis. I enjoy boxing, vintage computing, Archie comics and reading about tech news & gadgets.
This entry was posted in Technology. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

