Tried getting a position in Best Buy’s Windows Store…

If you haven’t heard, Microsoft is opening specialty stores within many Best Buy locations. As soon as I read that, I jumped on Best Buy’s website and uploaded my resume. A few hours later, I got a phone call asking me to come in a for an interview.  I was very excited.  Though I already have a full time job that allows me to barely get by, I need a second job to pay for some repairs on a recently purchased home, food, clothes and goodies for my child. My other motivation for getting this position would be showcasing and selling devices from my favorite tech company, Microsoft.

Windows Store within Best Buy

I arrived early for the interview as I always arrive early for everything.   The Windows Store was not set-up yet.  I decided to just browse the PC section.  Noticed the Microsoft Surface display table.  It was a mess.  The Surface RT was not on display.  Appears to have been taken off the display table.  The signage was knocked over and ripped apart.  However, the Surface Pro was there.  It was actually the first time I was able to use one.  It was awesome, simply awesome.

Back to the job interview, which was over before it started.  As soon as I sat down with the manager,  he mentions my time in amateur boxing.  Seemed interested in my Golden Gloves days.  Then he immediately asked about my availability.  I told him I have a full time job, but I would be available Friday evening and open to work anytime on Saturday.  He asked about Sunday.  I explained that I need to spend one day with my family, but I would work Sunday if I had Saturday off.  Not good enough.  He wanted me to work Friday, Saturday and Sunday.  I said I can’t do that.  The interview was over.  As I got up to leave, I told him, “you’re not going to find anyone else that has as much affection for Microsoft products as me.”

It brought me right back to the days when I worked retail and why I disliked it so much. They want you to work part time, but they want you to be open ALL the time.  He seemed like a typical retail manager who is just there to get a head count and not interested in what I would bring to the table.

Shame.  I think my enthusiasm and knowledge of all things Microsoft would rub off on the customers.

 

About Justin M. Salvato

I'm Justin M. Salvato, a semi-tech-savvy guy that uses Microsoft products on a daily basis. I enjoy boxing, vintage computing, Archie comics and reading about tech news & gadgets.
This entry was posted in retail, Technology and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

