What I use: January 2014

Hardware:

My main computer is a Dell Inspiron N5110 laptop sporting an i3 Intel processor  running Windows 8.1 (originally had Windows 7).  I use it to do photo and video editing.  I do audio podcast editing with it as well.

In the kitchen I keep a Dell Inspiron 1545 laptop running Windows 7.  It is used to watch Netflix, streaming news, and basic web browsing.

Windows Laptops

My wife’s main computer is a Dell Inspiron 1525 running Windows Vista.

In the living room we have a Xbox 360 with Kinect.  It is used mostly to watch Xbox Video, Netflix, YouTube, DVDs and for gaming.  Every once in a while, I’ll throw in a Kinect game like The Michael Jackson Experience or Kinect Sports (boxing mostly).

Other Hardware

My phone is a Dell Venue Pro running Windows Phone 7.8.  I am clearly overdo in terms of upgrading.

My wife is sporting a Nokia Lumia 521 running Windows Phone 8.

Other Devices

In my home office I have, other than my main computer, a Playstation 3 that I use just for Netflix.  I also use a Playstation 2 Slim for gaming.  Still stuck on Balder’s Gate and GTA Vice City..  Hooked that to the same television as my Dell Inspiron 6000 laptop running Windows XP which is used strictly for video game emulators for the Atari VCS, ColecoVision, Sega Master System and Nintendo Entertainment System.

I still use a Zune HD while in the car, traveling to and from work.  Though I should retire that and just use my Windows Phone which perform all the functions of the Zune HD plus makes phone calls.

At work I am using a HP desktop with a dual core processor running Windows XP.  Yes, I work for one of those companies that is SLOW to upgrade to anything beyond XP.  Luckily, more than half the company’s computers are running Windows 7.

Software:

For photo editing, I am using Photoshop CS2.  No need to upgrade as it handles all my editing needs.  For video editing, a very consumer-friendly application called Pinnacle Studio Ultimate version 14.  It needs to be upgraded.  I should also mention that I do audio editing with that application as well.

For notes, I use Microsoft’s OneNote on Windows Phone and Windows 8.  I use OpenOffice Writer for word processing.

About Justin M. Salvato

I'm Justin M. Salvato, a semi-tech-savvy guy that uses Microsoft products on a daily basis. I enjoy boxing, vintage computing, Archie comics and reading about tech news & gadgets.
This entry was posted in Technology. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

