Love/Hate relationship with Microsoft these days

People know me as a fan of all things Microsoft.  I preach about their software, hardware, retail presence, and customer service.  I am sometimes critical of the decisions Microsoft makes, but usually can see things from their point of view.  These days, I question why I am still a strong supporter of this company.

en-US-Windows-Mod-C-Win8-1-Upgrade-desktop

Windows 10 is about to hit the market.  The latest preview builds for both the PC and phones have users praising Microsoft, but most of the praise is for bringing desktop users, mostly in the enterprise, to the forefront of the decision making.  It was hard to keep brushing aside over a billion users in favor of a mobile strategy that didn’t seem to be catching on.  If you have been living under a rock, Windows 10 brings back the Start Menu that was found in 95, 98, 2000, ME, XP, Vista and 7.  The difference now is that you have the option of having Live Tiles in the Start Menu as well as the all apps list or program listing for those that never used Windows 8.  As for Windows 10 Mobile, with the exception of the Start Screen, the rest of the OS will resemble Windows 10 for PC.  You will not be able to run desktop applications on the phone, but apps created for Windows 10 will work on Windows 10 Mobile.  More on that later.  Fact is, what we know of as Windows Phone will be killed off.  The user interface will be changing dramatically.  The pivots/panoramic navigation will be replaced by hamburger menus.

FEATURES-xbox_games_music_windowsPhone_InvariantCulture_Default

So what am I complaining about?  Though I do half of my computing on in a desktop environment, I do a lot of consumption on tablets and phones.  I fell in love with the tablet side of Windows 8.  My Surface Pro 3 was made for Windows 8, well, 8.1 Pro to be specific.  When Windows Phone 7 was shown off at World Mobile Congress in 2010, I saw perfection and had to have it.  Fast forward to 2015: Windows Phone is dead and the tablet experience on Windows 8 is being put to rest. Microsoft is starting over, yet again, with Windows 10.

Welcome_phone_surface_484x272

Windows 10’s tablet mode incorporates a top/down navigation and the UI is very different.  There will be very little in the way of metro-style in the UI or apps.  Windows 10 is introducing Universal Apps which will look & function identically on tablets, phones and desktops.  That is a great achievement and I understand why Microsoft is going this route, but the problem for me is that I saw perfection in mobile and now I’m feeling jaded.  I guess I can find solace in that there are plenty of others who feel the same way.

About Justin M. Salvato

I'm Justin M. Salvato, a semi-tech-savvy guy that uses Microsoft products on a daily basis. I enjoy boxing, vintage computing, Archie comics and reading about tech news & gadgets.
This entry was posted in Technology. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

