Windows 10 Mobile UX & Xbox One dashboard – GROSS!

Up until recently, I considered my myself a Microsoft fanboy.  One of the main requirements of being a Microsoft fanboy, according to myself, is that they could do no wrong with their products.  Then came Windows 10 Mobile.  What a disgusting mess.  All that typography, the panoramic layouts, the easy to understand icons found in Windows Phone were gone.  When the latest update to the dashboard on Xbox One was revealed, I found myself near a toilet in fear I may throw up.

phoneDialer

I understand making changes to Windows, like bringing back the Start Menu.  That was a no-brainer, but why throw away all that work that went into the Metro-UI?  Many will say that was the only way to bring about Universal Windows Apps – apps that work the same with no code changes on desktop, tablet and phones.  Right…  The problem with that is for those few who jumped on the Windows Phone bandwagon they did so because of the unique user experience.  It was beautiful.  Funny, the incredibly small market share of Windows Phone dropped with the introduction of Windows 10 Mobile.  I doubt that is a coincidence.  What Microsoft doesn’t seem to understand is that people were not jumping ship because of the design of Windows Phone – it was the lack of apps.  Another thing Microsoft doesn’t understand is that starting over from scratch doesn’t always help.  They probably believe that, because of the explosion in adoption for Windows 10.  If they kept Windows 8.1 the same, but added a Start Menu, I guarantee that OS would be just as popular as 10 (on the desktop).

If you own a Xbox 360, you know that it was fairly easy to navigate the dashboard and to find your stuff – games, music, video, etc..  When the Xbox One debuted, it kept the panoramic look of the 360 dashboard.  Then came an update in the last month or so.  What a mess.  Congratulations Microsoft, your dashboard is now as gross as the PlayStation 3 & 4.  It’s a frickin’ challenge to enter codes for games, buy movies, and categorize apps in the Store.  The even changed what the buttons do on the controller (compared to the 360), though I think that’s been the case since the consoled debuted.

xboxdashes

I find myself having a more enjoyable experience on the Xbox 360, I downgraded my desktop computer to Windows 8.1, and will be keeping my obsolete Windows Phone 8.1 device for much longer.  Will I jump ship to Android for phones?  Perhaps someday since Microsoft has been spending a lot of their resources on making apps for that platform.  Will I jump to the PlayStation?  Doubt it, why go from one gross experience to another..?

It is safe to say I am not a Microsoft fanboy, because I am not happy with all the changes lately.  I do love their hardware, but the software company’s software is beginning to disappoint me.

About Justin M. Salvato

I'm Justin M. Salvato, a semi-tech-savvy guy that uses Microsoft products on a daily basis. I enjoy boxing, vintage computing, Archie comics and reading about tech news & gadgets.
This entry was posted in Technology. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

